Created: 21 Dec 2009 22:02
Updated: 21 Dec 2009 22:17

Little Ship Club Photographic Competition 2009

Last Tuesday 15 December 2009 was the date when prizes and certificates were presented to this year’s winners by Patrick Roach, the eminent marine photographer. Also attending was Janet Murphy, a director of Adlard Coles Nautical, who had presented 5 copies of Patrick’s latest book to be given as prizes.

There were 90 photographs sent in by almost 30 members. Most of the entries were of a high standard and interesting but please read the competition rules carefully next year. Some members had to be requested to re-submit ones the correct size!

Our judges were 2008’s 1st prize winners, Paul Banks, Diana Irons, Richard Keen, Natalie Nathan and from the office, our club secretary, Val Tumner and Bernadette Knee. They had a difficult task and this year’s winning photographs may have been surprising choices to some of our members. Judging photos of this quality is very subjective so as our panel changes, so do their preferences. The short list has been passed to the Commodore for him to make his personal choice of the winner of the Alan Walden-Jones Memorial Trophy.

The prize giving and exhibition of all photographs submitted was followed by club supper, a most convivial evening. Patrick Roach is now an honorary club member.

Those who were not at the club will have to wait for the full report to be published in the Spring 2010 Little Ship.

Anne Malcolm, Organiser

Back to the Results